

COVID-19 Vaccine Now a Benefit for Pediatric Population

August 23, 2022

Effective for dates of service on or after June 17, 2022, the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) authorized the use of the Moderna and Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine for children 6 months of age and up.

Medi-Cal Rx will now pay for the COVID-19 vaccine for the pediatric population as a pharmacy benefit under the following guidelines:

Moderna COVID-19 Vaccine:

The FDA amended the Emergency Use Authorization (EUA) for Moderna COVID-19 Vaccine to include use of the vaccine in individuals 6 months through 17 years of age:

- Ages 6 months to 5 years: 2-dose (25 mcg/dose) primary series separated by one month (28 days).
 - A third primary-series dose at least one month (28 days) following the second dose for individuals in this age group who have been determined to have certain kinds of immunocompromised conditions.
- Providers should utilize National Drug Code (NDC) 80777-0279-05 (25 mcg/0.25) and populate the appropriate value in the Submission Clarification Code field (420-DK) to represent the dose administered (first, second, or third).
- Ages 6 to 11 years: 2-dose (50 mcg/dose) primary series separated by one month (28 days).
 - A third primary-series dose at least one month (28 days) following the second dose for individuals in this age group who have been determined to have certain kinds of immunocompromised conditions.
- Ages 12 to 17 years: 2-dose (100 mcg/dose) primary series separated by one month (28 days).

 A third primary-series dose at least one month (28 days) following the second dose for individuals in this age group who have been determined to have certain kinds of immunocompromised conditions.

Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 Vaccine:

The FDA amended the EUA for Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 Vaccine to include use of the vaccine in individuals 6 months through 4 years of age:

- The vaccine is administered as a 3-dose (3 mcg/dose) primary series. The first and second dose should be separated by 3 weeks (21 days). The second and third dose should be separated by 8 weeks (56 days).
- Providers should utilize NDC 59267-0078-01 (3 mcg/0.2 ml) or 59267-0078-04 (3 mcg/0.2 ml) and populate the appropriate value in the Submission Clarification Code field (420-DK) to represent the dose administered (first, second, or third).

Pharmacists are reminded that California Business and Profession's Code Section 4052.8 permits pharmacists to initiate a vaccine for children 3 years of age and older. Pharmacists are able to administer vaccinations in populations under 3 years old under certain circumstances. Pharmacy providers should review California law if they have any questions.

Contact Information

You can call the Medi-Cal Rx Customer Service Center (CSC) at 1-800-977-2273, which is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days per year.

For other questions, email Medi-Cal Rx Education & Outreach at MediCalRxEducationOutreach@magellanhealth.com.